

Standards Committee

Date: Monday 24 June 2013

Time: 10.30 am

Venue: Committee Room 11, Ground Floor, Town Hall

Everyone is welcome to attend this meeting of the Standards Committee.

Membership of the Committee

Councillors -

P Andrews, M Clayton, G Evans, A Taylor and A Trotman Councillors C O'Donovan (Ringway Parish Council)

Independent Co-opted Members -

Professor S Hardy (Chair) and Mrs A Isles

Independent Persons

Mrs E Carmichael, Mr A Eastwood and Ms N Malik

Agenda

Page

1 Urgent business

To consider any items which the Chair has agreed to have submitted as urgent.

2 Appeals

To consider any appeals from the public against refusal to allow inspection of background documents and/or the inclusion of items in the confidential part of the agenda.

3 Interests

To allow Members an opportunity to declare any personal, prejudicial or disclosable pecuniary interest they might have in any items which appear on this agenda. Members with a personal interest should declare that interest at the start of the item under consideration. If members also have a prejudicial or disclosable pecuniary interest they must withdraw from the meeting during the consideration of the item.

4 Minutes

To approve as a correct record the minutes of the meeting held on 11 March 1 2013.

5 Annual Governance Statement

(Report of Deputy Chief Executive (Performance) and the City Treasurer) 4

Information about the Committee

The Standards Committee comprises five city councillors, one parish councillors and two independent members and is chaired by an independent member. The Committee deals with matters relating to the conduct of City and Parish Councillors and the promotion of ethical standards.

The Council is concerned to ensure that its meetings are as open as possible and confidential business is kept to the strict minimum. When confidential items are involved these are considered at the end of the meeting at which point members of the public are asked to leave.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council Committees can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Smoking is not allowed in Council buildings.

Sir Howard Bernstein Chief Executive Town Hall, Albert Square Manchester, M60 2LA

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee

Officer: Carolyn Whewell

Tel: 0161 234 3011 Fax: 0161 274 7017

Email: c.whewell@manchester.gov.uk

This agenda was issued on **14 June 2013** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Town Hall, Albert SLA.